FAQ

When are files deleted?

Free Plan/Personal Plan


If the user leaves the chat:
All of the user’s uploaded files are deleted as soon as they leave the chat.

If the user deleted the account:
All files uploaded by the user are deleted from every chat instance.

 

Business Plan


If the user leaves the chat:
If a user leaves the chat while another member of their organization remains, ownership of any file uploaded by the user who left will be transferred to the organization instead of the individual and remain on the servers.

These files can be edited or deleted by any user in the chat who belongs to the same organization as the user who left.

*The same applies when a user is deleted from the chat.
*If no other users remain in the chat who belongs to the same organization as the user who left, the file is deleted.

 

If the user’s account is terminated:
If an organization administrator deletes the user, it will be processed the same as if the user had left the chat.

If the business account is terminated:
If the business account for the organization itself is terminated, all files uploaded by the users of the organization will be deleted.

If a user is transferred:
In the event that a user leaves a chat as a result of a transfer, it will be processed as though the user had left as a member of the organization to which they were transferred.

For that reason, any files uploaded by the transferred user will be deleted upon their departure even if there are users from the original organization still in the chat.

However, if users from the company to which the user was transferred still remain in the chat that the transferred user left, ownership of any files uploaded by the transferred user will be transferred to the company the user was sent without being deleted.

*For more details, please reference the user transfer help page.